top of page
GettyImages-499463233_edited.jpg
  • lauradschreiber5

Endings Are Just New Beginnings

November 20th - November 27th, 2022

 

I have finally come to the end of my Practicum!

I completed 150 hours of transcription and transcribed 125 letters! I transcribed 50 letters in the second half of my Practicum. I had intended on transcribing as many if not more than I had in the first half of my Practicum, but unfortunately because of my broken elbow, that wasn't possible.


I learned so much during this internship and although trying to complete the Practicum with a broken elbow was annoying, I am grateful that my youngest daughter was able to help me and learn more about integration and the difficulties that Mr. Meredith faced.


Below are some examples of what the final Word doc looks like after I finish transcribing the letters. I tried to stay as consistent as possible with the formatting and the information that I provided regarding the letters. Also, if there was handwriting that I could not read or words that I was unable to transcribe, my Practicum Advisor instructed me to type [illegible].

For the most part, I was able to figure out what most letters were saying, but like I said in a previous post, sometimes, I just couldn't figure it out.


I look forward to watching this project evolve over time and see how researchers use these letters.

I hope you enjoyed following my Practicum journey and will continue following this project on Ole Miss' website!

Thanks for reading!
















8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page